Ba’t ganun si Pablo Neruda?

Dapat ba ang love parang commandment sa Old Testament? Yung ‘an eye for an eye’? A love for a love?

‘Ang tawag dito ay selfish love,’ pagdedeklara ni Mang Paking.

If I gave you a kilo of love, then you should give me a kilo of love as well. And no, don’t even bother to cheat me a few grams or the deal is off. Love me and I’ll love you back. Tit for tat. Quid pro quo.

‘Sad but true,’ dagdag pa ni Mang Paking.

I don’t think it’s sad, but it’s definitely true. In fact, base sa aking pagmamasid-masid mula sa bintana ng aking kumbento, yan ang pinaka karaniwang uri ng pag-ibig na makikita natin ngayon.

Literature, specially poetry, celebrates selfless love. But in real life what we see most is selfish love.

“Bakit hindi ka malambing sa akin, eh ako binibigay ko naman lahat?”

“Bakit sobrang mahal na mahal kita pero di ko makita yung ganung pagmamahal mula sa yo?”

“Why can’t you love me the way that I love you?”

Ba’t ganun, Pablo Neruda?

Well, now,
if little by little you stop loving me
I shall stop loving you little by little.

If suddenly
you forget me
do not look for me,
for I shall already have forgotten you.

But
if each day,
each hour,
you feel that you are destined for me
with implacable sweetness,
if each day a flower
climbs up to your lips to seek me,
ah my love, ah my own,
in me all that fire is repeated,
in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,
my love feeds on your love, beloved,
and as long as you live it will be in your arms
without leaving mine.
— sipi mula sa tulang Si Tu Mi Olvidas ni Pablo Neruda

Ba’t ganun ang pag-ibig?

 

image credits: ricardoheredia26.blogspot.com
